A Cycling & bikes forum. CycleBanter.com

Go Back   Home » CycleBanter.com forum » rec.bicycles » Techniques
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Trek BB90

Old August 8th 20, 11:15 PM posted to rec.bicycles.tech
Tom Kunich[_2_]
external usenet poster

Default Trek BB90

When I got my Trek Madone if became rapidly clear why it was so cheap. The bearings in the BB90 were rather loose. Now there are several methods of fixing this - one is to use a strong locktite-type compound which locked the bearings in place and one is the Trek way which is to put an oversize bearing in place of the stock bearing.

With normal caution as an Engineer I chose the least damaging method first. I followed the directions on the locktite and glued the "just fits" bearing into place and allowed it to dry the requisite 48 hours.. Well, climbing one of the local hills last Tuesday the BB90 began to "click" in the same place every revolution on the drive side pedal. This means the glued drive side bearing has come loose. Inasmuch as I am presently working on the Colnago I won't look at this until later. Another choice has come up - that is to check the bearing that is presently in the Madone, to see if it is undersize. That might be the case since the bearings more easily obtained from Trek are Chinese and let's say they aren't the finest quality bearing available. Hambini of one piece BB push in bearing fame who hates BB90 also can supply NTN bearings which are exactly the right size. NTN is a Japanese bearing manufacturer that supplies the best bearings in the world.